Creating resumeCraft - An application that helps you create resumes.

Creating resumeCraft - An application that helps you create resumes.

I was really excited when I got to know about hashnode's Christmas hackathon as I would get the chance to build something exciting, not just for fun, but also for an amazing prize.

I was thinking of what to build for the #christmashackathon on Hashnode, something that would also be beneficial for the developers community, then i decided to build a resume creator, and named the app resumeCraft.

The idea

As I said above, resumeCraft is an application that helps you create resumes. All you need to do is to fill in your information that is required to make a good resume, and the application helps you generate a beautiful resume that you can download in PDF format.

The process; from idea to product.

UI/UX design

To bring my idea to life, I decided to create the UI/UX design of the application first, before moving on to development.

Since I also have good knowledge of UI/UX design, I made research, came up with sketches, wireframes, and high fidelity mockups for the application.

These are some of the screens I designed:

Home.jpg

Create resume-4.jpg

Development

I decided to use ReactJS for the development of the application. I also used some extra JavaScript libraries which I listed below, that helped achieve some of the functionalities of the application.

Things i learnt from building this application

Building this application came which challenges, which in the process of going through them, I learnt quite a lot. I learnt how to:

  • Create multistep forms

  • Create and Manipulate PDF files

  • Convert ReactJS components into document files. This technique can be employed in web applications where reports have to be generated.

  • Convert UI/UX designs into frontend code more efficiently

The Product

So I scaled through all of the challenges this project presented me with, and came up with a MVP.

You can try out the live demo here.

I would love that you try it out and give me feedback and suggestions regarding the application.

These are more screenshots of the application.

Create resume-5.png

Create resume-2.png

What next?

So these are steps i would be taking next concerning this project:

  • Make this project open source on github

  • Make the application generate more customised resumes for the users.

Conclusion

I really had great fun building this project because I was able to merge my interest for both design and development in creating a tangible product that solves a problem. I hope to continually add more features to this application to make it more valuable to its users.

If you like this article, please do not forget to drop a reaction, comment and also share on your social media platforms.

Thanks for reading!, and happy new year!!!